Machine Ghost

Delete

leave a comment »

I finally got around to reading Mayer-Schonberger’s Delete and I have to say I’m not thrilled or convinced by his argument. He maintains that because digital technologies allow us to remember everything, that there should be a built-in “forgetfulness” along with the memory. I don’t think that’s ethical. I don’t believe that “we” should be responsible for what others post about themselves.  Who doesn’t know full well that what you post will be around (or at least accessible through the back doors of the internet) forever?  And the examples he uses are too “poor me” for my taste. Yes, so the teacher who posted a pic of herself as “drunken pirate” was denied a teaching license.  Because there are certain images or texts that some want to be forgotten should not mean all web users should be restricted by limited memory. Many, including myself, take advantage of the external, stable, and unlimited memory–I don’t think that “enforced forgetting” should be apart of that, too. That’s why we use these technologies because our brains aren’t enough anymore. Mayer-Schonberger is making me frustrated.

Written by kimlacey

January 17, 2010 at 10:43 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

