Machine Ghost

No vacation?

with one comment

Grades are posted, another chapter draft in the bag, shopping is completed. Now what? Relax? Should be easy, right? I swear, everytime this happens, I cannot relax because there are just so many more things to read, write, learn, websites to fix, etc.

On top of our Badiou reading group, I’ve decided to start reading one “classic” theory text each month.  The texts could be ones I’ve already read but need to revisit, or new ones that I want to know. I figure since the job market is right around the corner (happy early 2010), it wouldn’t hurt to tuck a little more reading under my belt. I’m starting with Barthes’ Mythologies and will keep you updated once I’ve started reading and thinking. Any suggestions?

Written by kimlacey

December 20, 2009 at 10:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is a really good idea. I’m not sure any of these qualify, but here’s a few suggestions off the top of my head –
    Lukacs, History and Class Consciousness
    Althusser, For Marx
    Debord, Society of the Spectacle
    Marx, Economic and Philosophic Manuscripts of 1844

    happy new year,
    Nate

    Nate

    January 9, 2010 at 3:56 pm


Leave a Reply

