Machine Ghost

W.

with 3 comments

We watched W. last night, and while I found it entertaining, I was a bit irked by its passivity.  It more than pleased the republican in Jeff, but it aggravated the liberal in me.  I guess I wanted it to go all the way, maybe “attack” his policy decisions a bit more.  But I didn’t get that.  In fact, it made me kinda like him (then I realized what I was thinking!).  It humanized him, which isn’t necessarily that terrible.  It’s a similar feeling I had during Obama’s campaign, and now that he’s President, there’s a distance.  (Not that I ever knew/met the man, but his grassroot-y campaign fostered that.)  But we all know he was a raging drunk/frat boy.  We all know he majorly fucked up the search for WMDs.  We all know he’s a Bush.  This film showed me nothing new on those ends.  But then again, by personalizing him, maybe it did.  (Don’t worry, I’m not crossing over to the dark side or anything.)  After seeing Frost/Nixon last month, I feel like this is the “easy” Frost interview W would have wanted.

Written by kimlacey

February 15, 2009 at 9:28 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Watching this in my ENG 1020 class right now. So far, I really like it. Did you notice how much time W spends consuming in the movie?

    Clay

    February 17, 2009 at 1:44 pm

  2. Yeah, it’s such an interesting portrayal of him. He’s so, um, regular. Joe six pack if you will. I really can’t figure out if I really like the movie, or really hate it yet. Regardless, I can’t stop thinking about it (in a positive way, which is more than I can say for the entire W presidency). What kinds of reactions are you getting from your students?

    krlacey

    February 18, 2009 at 7:41 pm

  3. Ms. Lacey (et al), I thought you could appreciate (and possibly comment on) this related article: http://www.hoover.org/pubaffairs/dailyreport/archive/39168927.html.

    It’s title is “Bush Hatred and Obama Euphoria Are Two Sides of the Same Coin”.

    Beleg Strongbow

    March 5, 2009 at 8:46 am


Leave a Reply

