Machine Ghost

Academic blogging: For

with 2 comments

Something for everyone.  3.5 years later, and we have the following response.  Is Facebook the new blogging?

February 11, 2009

Career-Building Block or Blunder?

Despite opinions to the contrary, blogging can be good for your academic career. So says John Dupuis, head of the Steacie Science & Engineering Library at York University, in Toronto, on his blog, Confessions of a Science Librarian.

The days of making a big splash with a personal blog may be over (see a recent article in Wired), but in this era of Googling, blogging is still a good way to build a reputation, promote yourself (something job seekers should do more often), and network with like-minded individuals, Dupuis suggests, using excerpts from an article by Graham Lavender, a McGill University library student, to prove his point:

  1. Self-promotion.
    Let’s face it: when you apply for your first full-time gig after graduation, your potential employer will be going through a stack of CVs from people just like you, and every single candidate will have an MLIS, and the vast majority of them will have some experience working in the field. If you don’t make your CV stand out, it will never make it to the top of the pile, so you need something to show how special you are. Blogging shows that you’re interested in the field and have ideas to contribute, so when you include your blog’s URL on your CV, employers will take notice…
  2. Becoming part of the community
    As students, we’re already part of a community; library programs tend to be small enough that we get to know most of our classmates, and this is important since we will likely work with many of these people in the future. But wouldn’t it be great to have a network of contacts outside of school, made up of people who share your interests and are able to provide advice and support?…

(Plus blogging is fun, Dupuis quotes Lavender as saying.)

On a related note, job seekers could be courting trouble if they’re using Facebook, an article in The Chronicle reports.

So tell us, hirers, how do you feel about a candidates with a blog? Is that now-established medium helpful or harmful to an academic job seeker? What about Facebook?

By Gabriela Montell

Written by kimlacey

February 13, 2009 at 10:28 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Obviously, I have started blogging again. But I still don’t know what purpose my blog serves. I was hoping with a tighter academic interest, I could more easily figure that out. Nonetheless, I still feel like my blog is an echo chamber. Although I will say that I like the way blogs organize writing in a database with tags, categories, dates, etc. After I most recently quit blogging, I tried to reproduce the blog-as-journal in a word processing document. Didn’t really work out for me, though. My biggest hope, going forward, is that the blog can help me develop my thinking through the QE prep. Maybe I will have to shield it from public view, though. I just don’t know yet.

    Clay

    February 17, 2009 at 1:48 pm

  2. I used a blog for my QE notes and it saved my life. If you tag everything throughout your reading, towards the end it’s awesome. You’ll forget (okay, at least I did) that you tagged certain texts with certain words/themes –it saves so much time when you’re trying to tie everything all together into anything coherent!

    krlacey

    February 18, 2009 at 7:44 pm


Leave a Reply

