Machine Ghost

Memes

with 5 comments

I don’t have a Facebook account. But…I’ve been reading about this 25 things you don’t know about me meme (or something like that) that’s transferring into the blogosphere. It’s like freakin’ wildfire. I’m done with memes (hear that ya’ll)! While I’ve participated in these in the past, I’m d to the o to the n to the e. Done. And while blogging certainly has that ‘this is what you don’t know about me’-like feel to it, I hope these spaces a little, hmmm, better (?) than that…

Written by kimlacey

February 9, 2009 at 8:06 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Here-here! I indeed am for encouraging people to communicate with one another effectively, but I’m even more for communicating creatively and intelligently. MySpace- and Facebook-style websites, while superb at keeping-in-touch across vast distances, unfortunately encourage less-than-thoughtful (or -thought-provoking) forms of writing. Realistically, the general exchange at those sites is juvenile at best, and “memes” naturally fall right in line in such mediums. I salute you in your defiance of the masses.

    Beleg Strongbow

    February 10, 2009 at 11:53 am

  2. Well, I want to note here two things:

    1) I vigorously disagree with Beleg above. MySpace and Facebook are what you make of them. And what’s wrong with juvenilia? And defiance of the masses is itself (a) a meme, and (b) so played out as an act of resistance that there are now masses of people “defying the masses.” And the plural of medium is media. Enjoy conformity, Beleg.

    2) You know I will now take it upon myself to meme the heck out of you, right Lacey?

    Mike

    February 10, 2009 at 5:31 pm

  3. I have been provoked to…clarification…

    Mike, I hope you didn’t expend too much energy in your attempt to disagree with me “vigorously.” Actually, I don’t see that we necessarily do disagree. I think your view point differs from mine but does not inherently conflict.

    Did I say there is anything “wrong” with writings that are produced either by or for the young (i.e. “juvenilia”)? No (I love the Chronicles of Narnia!), 🙂 but when thirty-/forty-/etc-something’s are constantly cranking out juvenile rhetoric, rarely taking even a moment to-actually-think-about-what-they-are-sayingbeforegiddilymashingonthe“submit”button… It’s not exactly a flattering mental image. But that’s my opinionated perspective…

    We all should give way to juvenilia from time to time: “A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men” — Willy Wonka. But, certain “mediums” (Yes, this word is a correct plural form of “medium”: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/medium. You may have submitted too hastily…) tend to promote non-stop juvenilia, and I have observed that MySpace and Facebook and the-like are among them. I don’t necessarily have anything against these forums (or “fora,” if you like), 😉 as I did point out for what they are useful, but we should be able to acknowledge the “bad” along with the “good.”

    Do I conform to something(s)? Absolutely! and I think that’s a great point, Mike: we are all conforming to something. As the Preacher wisely said, “There is no new thing under the sun” (Ecc. 1:9). Indeed, defiance for the sake of non-conformity is an exercise in futility, but I understood Ms. Lacey to be standing upon a noble principle and applauded her for it. What principle is that? Demanding more of herself and of her writing, despite popular culture’s fascination with mediocrity (or worse).

    By the way, Ms. Lacey, if “Twittering” (see next topic) offers to you more balance in your life, then I say “Go for it!” 🙂

    Beleg Strongbow

    February 11, 2009 at 10:53 am

  4. I’ll cop to having submitted in haste and bad spirits, neither of which are your fault, Beleg. My apologies and many happy returns.

    Mike

    February 11, 2009 at 2:45 pm

  5. No problem, Mike. You got me working harder to express my intended point of view, which is a good thing. 🙂

    Beleg Strongbow

    February 12, 2009 at 9:09 am


Leave a Reply

