Machine Ghost

Six sad songs

leave a comment »

Tagged by FoolsCap.

Oh, now being the folk music junkie that I am, this one is tough to narrow down to a mere six. Here it goes:

Joni Mitchell, Last Time I Saw Richard

Richard got married to a figure skater
And he bought her a dishwasher and a coffee percolator
And he drinks at home now most nights with the tv on
And all the house lights left up bright
Im gonna blow this damn candle out
I dont want nobody comin over to my table
I got nothing to talk to anybody about
All good dreamers pass this way some day
Hidin behind bottles in dark cafes
Dark cafes
Only a dark cocoon before I get my gorgeous wings
And fly away
Only a phase, these dark cafe day

Greg Brown, Spring Wind

Darlin’ it’s been a hard go but I think we’ll be okay. I know I say that all the time like everything else I say. Oh, I’ve been gone so often, but every time I miss you, and I don’t really know nothin’, Except I like to kiss you

Iris DeMent, Easy’s Gettin Harder Everyday

I’ll drop the baby off at school at nine,

And bust the lights to get to work on time.

Where I’ll be staring at the clock just waiting to knock off another day.

When supper’s done we’ll watch some TV show,

Of a bunch of folks who’ve never heard of Idaho,

Where easy’s gettin’ harder every day.

Patty Griffin, Useless Desires

How the sky turns to fire against a telephone wire
And even I’m getting tired of useless desires

Say goodbye to the old building
That never tried to know your name
Goodbye, goodbye, goodbye old friend
You won’t be seeing me again
Goodbye to all the windowpanes shining in the sun
Like diamonds on a winter day
Goodbye, goodbye to everyone

How the sky turns to fire against a telephone wire
Burns the last of the day down
And I’m the last one hangin’ around
Waiting on a train track, and the train never comes back
And even I’m getting tired of useless desire

Cat Stevens/Yusuf Islam, Father and Son

All the times that I cried, keeping all the things I knew inside,
Its hard, but its harder to ignore it.
If they were right, Id agree, but its them you know not me.
Now theres a way and I know that I have to go away.
I know I have to go.

Peter Mulvey, Ithica

It took this much to make me see
Still I barely understand
Love will always, always be larger and different than our plans

Love will never listen to us
And why should it?
Love knows the score
It builds better songs than we do
It sings a better metaphor

Okay, a seventh, and only because I love, love, love Joni:

Joni Mitchell, For Free

Nobody stopped to hear him
Though he played so sweet and high
They knew he had never
Been on their t.v.
So they passed his music by
I meant to go over and ask for a song
Maybe put on a harmony…
I heard his refrain
As the signal changed
He was playing real good, for free

Bonus clip:

Emmylou Harris, via Steve Earle, Goodbye

Written by kimlacey

September 25, 2008 at 8:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

