Machine Ghost

Routine prodcedure

with 2 comments

What I’m finding most helpful during the adventure along the qualifying exam trail is that I’m setting up a professional routine–finally.  This never happened during coursework, presumably because I was too busy trying to squeeze every little last ass kicking, er, text in before class began.  Always pressed for time, there wasn’t an available routine to be had.  (That is, of course, except for the caffeine-addiction that accompanied the reading.)  But now, I have learned to balance my reading and writing life.  I read until lunch, break for a bit, type up my reading notes, then write my one page or paragraph (whichever comes first) to close up the workday.  Sure this works great when there’s no teaching thrown in there, but I’m learning to handle myself as a professional, rather than just a grad student.  And I’m realizing that there’s a big difference there, one that I’ll undoubtedly have to face in the next year or two.  This routine is making my work day, well, more like a work day (as opposed to cramming in as much as possible before the time on the seminar clock expires).   So, I’m off to the reading part of my day…

Written by kimlacey

August 7, 2008 at 8:54 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Right, I had a similar experience as I spent much of my summer focusing on a QE list… not that my QEs are immanent or anything. Nonetheless, I feel like I have developed a great system of reading and writing that has allowed me to retain a clearer understanding of the text afterwards (if only I had had these powers when we read Doyle…). My hope now is to keep this cycle alive during the semester.

    Clay

    August 14, 2008 at 10:24 pm

  2. Ha ha yes, Doyle sure messes up all schedules!

    krlacey

    August 15, 2008 at 8:47 am


Leave a Reply

