Machine Ghost

As if by osmosis

with 2 comments

I do this all the time, and, in the light of my upcoming QEs it has become uncontrollable.  Either I fly solo to Purdy-Kresge, or we go to the library together.  Jeff grabs one book that he has already on hold, or shuffles through the audiobooks, while I decide that I need more to read.  They’re not just additional books for my reading list. No, I actually think that I will be able to finish the armload of books that I cart out of the Royal Oak library in three weeks.  (However, I did good last night and only checked out two books.)  And the thing that gets me is that I do indeed judge a book by its cover.   Needless to say, this inevitably leads to an evening of me reading the inside cover flaps aloud at home, and realizing, “oh, nevermind, that’s not at all what I thought that would be about.”  Then I assume that the contents of the book, by merely sitting on my apartment floor and waiting to become overdue fines, will be magically absorbed into my brain through the mere powers of readerly-osmosis.  Uh-huh, exactly.

Written by kimlacey

August 6, 2008 at 8:40 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This reminds me of the stack of 1960s-history tomes I have piled on the floor of my room. Despite monts of hope, I have not yet awoken one morning to find that they have osmosed (??) themselves into my brain.

    Ideally, I could be like Dark Willow on Buffy and just absorb the contents of a book through touch. But then I’d have to offer myself to the Elder Gods or some shit, and I don’t truck with that.

    Mike

    August 6, 2008 at 12:48 pm

  2. If Elder Gods could equal hiring committees, then it’s worth it…

    krlacey

    August 7, 2008 at 8:56 am


Leave a Reply

