Machine Ghost

The Strangers

leave a comment »

We saw The Strangers last night and it admittedly scared the shit out of me. (Although – bonus – our stolen popcorn scheme worked, as much as I didn’t think it would.) The film was as minimalistically frightening as Open Water, which is what I imagined it to resemble. Just a couple in the woods and some killers in masks. But that what works so beautifully about this film–it’s real, and it could happen. And about this “it could happen” thing: I’ve been trying to find what true story on which the film is based, but haven’t had any luck. Maybe that’s a good thing, though. Regardless, it was a genius thriller. (But scary moves and I don’t get along very well, so that’s not saying much…)

Oh, and that soundtrack.  Not since Sondre Leche’s Dan in Real Life have I felt so connected to the music in a film.  I must also say, one of the most effective uses of a turntable in awhile.  Or ever.  Heebee geebees all over again.  The early female singer sounded a bit too much like Mazzy Star at times, and that’s reason enough for me to keep that cd on the bottom of the pile that is my music “collection.”

Written by kimlacey

June 2, 2008 at 8:13 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

